About the District

Ananthapuramu got its name from ‘Anaatasagaram’, a big tank, which means “Endless Ocean”. The villages of Anaantasagaram and Bukkarayasamudram were constructed by Anantaras Chilkkavodeya, the minister of Bukka-I, a Vijayanagar ruler. Some authorities assert that Anaantasagaram was named after Bukka’s queen, while some contend that it must have been known after Anantarasa Chikkavodeya himself, as Bukka had no queen by that name. Anantapur District was formed in the year 1882 having been separated from Bellary district.

The district was situated between 76º 47′ and 78º 26’E, of the eastern longitudes and 13º 41′ and 15º 14’N, of northern latitudes… View More

ys Jagan Mohan Reddy
Sri Y.S.Jagan Mohan Reddy Hon'ble Chief Minister of Andra Pradesh
Smt. M.Gowthami, I.A.S. Collector & District Magistrate,Ananthapuramu



Navaratnalu : Here are the nine Navaratna welfare schemes: 1. YSR Rythu Bharosa 2. Fee Reimbursement 3. Arogyasri 4. Jalayagnam 5. Ban on Alcohol 6. Amma Vodi 7. YSR Asara 8. Paydalandariki Illu 9. Pensionla Pempu